To the Well-Intentioned

I’ve gone through depression. I didn’t tell everyone because I knew not everyone would know what to say. My friend Jen put to words what a person going through depression needs from a caring friend…and what they don’t need. I grateful for these thoughts.

A Crazy Beautiful Life

I know you mean well.

Really, you do. You desire to be a voice of encouragement and hope.

But sometimes well-intentioned words can feel the very opposite of hope and encouragement. They can heap shame and condemnation.

I know my hard can be just as confusing for you as it is for me. I get that you don’t know what to say. I often don’t know what to say either. Most of the time I don’t need answers though. I just need your presence. I just need to hear you say you care about my pain.

CoupleBack

To the well-intentioned who said, “Thankfulness is the answer,” I know you were trying to help. I know you wanted good for me. A thankful heart didn’t make depression go away though. Your words made me wonder what I was doing wrong because as hard as I tried to be thankful, I couldn’t escape my darkness. They…

View original post 505 more words

Leave a Reply

